Day 5 – Pure Joy for $.25

Before picking up the kids from school yesterday, I stopped at the local pharmacy to get a birthday card for a friend.  As I was standing in line to check out, I was bombarded by the sea of pink and red valentine trinkets spread throughout the aisles.  Running late and knowing the kids would be wondering where I was, I just wanted to get to the front of the line and get out of the store.  Out of the corner of my eye, I spotted the red shiny foil paper of a chocolate covered heart-shaped marshmallow about the size of a credit card.  I was just looking away when the price caught my eye:  $.25!  I wondered how this could possibly be when we can barely buy a gumball for a quarter anymore.  I quickly paid for three and was off to meet the kids.  One by one they hopped in the car and told the various trials and tribulations of their day…Cricket had been assigned a new lunch table that was less than favorable, Sport had a tough time with cursive writing and Rocky complained that his pants were too short.  After a few empathetic head nods and smiles, I reached into the bag and handed each kid their chocolate marshmallow heart.  For a few sweet, gooey moments their joy was as evident as their chocolate mustaches.  Then we were off for a night of homework, sports practice and some serious pants shopping.

heart candy_1

Leave a Reply

