Moment for Mom?

Just when it seems like I’m mastering our latest household schedule, a new sport begins and throws our routine into chaos.  Add in a couple extra tests plus a big homework project and the stress level in our home can get a little…elevated.  The kids were working hard this week to meet the demands of school and sports, but it was blatantly obvious that things were quickly boiling over.  While I try to deal with mega meltdowns in a calm and rational manner, I too can be quick to crack under pressure.  I had just threatened to take screen time away for a week as well as make them wear their pajamas to school for not getting dressed (Really?  Was that the best I could do?), when Cricket approached me and told me to close my eyes.  She took my hand and led me to my bedroom door where I was told to begin my scavenger hunt.  Throughout the house, she had left little notes guiding me to spots where I found coupons for back rubs, prepared meals and drawn up baths.  At the end of the hunt, I opened a box where she had beautifully wrapped up $5 of her own money with instructions to go out and purchase my favorite coffee drink.  She knew that I had created a similar game for Rocky just a few weeks ago, and was now doing something nice for me, just when I needed it.  She had created a moment for me.  Imitation is definitely the best form of flattery and the thrill can linger all day (even if the kids DO end up at school in their pajamas).

IMG_2019

2 thoughts on “Moment for Mom?

  1. Seriously? Pajama? We all know you’d never let them walk out of the house like that!! Sweet Cricket, what a wonderful person she’s turning out to be!

Leave a Reply

